Do solo bloggers have a future?

I haven’t been blogging recently for a number of reasons. Firstly the demise of my server took some wind out of my sails. It was the second time it happened and to start all over again (although I did save most of my posts this time) it sort of deflated me.

Also while I really don’t care whether anyone reads this or not, I do wonder who is out there. But mostly I wonder whether the days of the humble solo blogger is numbered, if not over already.

Look at the most read blogs like Larvatus Prodeo and Club Troppo are written by a number of contributors rather than one. The same has happened to football bloggers where many have shifted from their own blogs to write on website such as The Roar.

Of course it makes sense. Being in a blog with many contributors means that you don’t have to keep up the blog all by yourself and there are many more readers.

I guess there may be also more pressure to write good stuff all the time as you don’t want to ‘let the team down’.

Me? I’ll continue here. As I said doesn’t matter if I write stuff that only I will read. A bit like useless pottering in a shed. It is ultimately a bit of a hobby and a diversion from everyday life.

1 Comment

Filed under Musings

One response to “Do solo bloggers have a future?

  1. I think the solo blogger will always have a future because, unlike sites with multiple contributors, the solo blog is someone’s authentic voice. I know that when I read something here, it will be a Guido piece.

    Probably more importantly, a solo blogger has the luxury of real diversity. If you want to talk about soccer, or politics, or blogging, or two flies crawling up the wall, it makes sense for you to do so. If you have multiple bloggers, they only make sense if they have some unifying theme. It wouldn’t make sense to have one person writing about soccer, and another writing about music and another… (Actually, it does – they are called newspapers)

    Multiple bloggers reflect an increasing professionalism in blogs. But in doing so, they necessarily drown out any given individual’s voice. On your own blog, you are able to combine posts about a holiday, criticism (or praise) of a Government policy, discussion about an event you went to, thoughts on the ills of society, or whatever you like. Just as, for example, my (ex-)blog contains anything from what I was doing at the time, thoughts on world events, sport, arguments about any given (non-)issue (I still like my post complaining about the dangers of umbrella usage, even if no one else does), stuff about my work, rewriting of stories as if it were in a PhD setting, a poem about my (then) 2 week old son and then end of my two weeks of paternity leave, and just generally testing out ideas. My favourite post is still this one: http://www.lubansky.net/alex/miscellany/spec.php?spec=social/imogen.inc

    One of the real advantages of solo blogging is that there is a lower self-censorship for ideas. I am far more prepared to take risks on my own than I am if it will reflect on others. And yes, some (most?) of the ideas worked a lot better in my head than they did on the screen, and some of the ideas just fell flat. But then, some of the ideas came out a lot better than I originally thought they would because I have my own space to develop them, and know that no matter how bad the piece is, I can still publish with little consequence! So I’m not convinced about the “better quality” argument – maybe less garbage, but less gems, too.

Leave a Reply

