City2Sea fun run. My chance to re-live my past and raise some money for charity as well.

Maintaining fitness for me has been always a bit of a battle.  From being a fat child, then a fat teenager I managed to be thin and fit for my early adulthood, until having a child and being caught up in the day to day activities and preoccupation of life made me abandon the strict regime of pears, apples and brown rice and exercise that involved running, going to the gym and a ‘abs only’ session of Fridays followed by more gym and a swim.

My body is very happy to gain weight but it is very reticent in losing it.  So I have been watching my weight and going to the gym but the results were somewhat disappointing.

So when I saw on the Sunday Age that they were organising the Melbourne version of Sydney’s City to Surf (now termed in a mobile text sort of way ‘City2Surf’) with a ‘City2Sea’ my thoughts went to when I did the City to Surf a long time ago.  In 1992 in fact.

Me (on the right) and my friend Phil at the completion of the City to Surf at Bondi. 16 August 1992

That event still remains in my mind as one of the happiest things I did in my life. I trained for it, I flew to Sydney and it was my first big fun run with heaps of runners, jazz bands and people watching runners on footpaths. The other thing is that I always had unhappy of memories of Sydney as being the city of ‘first impact’  after I migrated to Australia.  But participating in this fun run  therapeutically  changed the perception I had about the city forever.  Interestingly I also experienced one of my happiest event of my life occurred in Sydney 14 years later when Australia qualified for the World Cup in after three decades of bitter disappointments.

In those early 90’s days as I stated I was super fit and the thinnest I have ever been.  But that was almost 20 years ago.  How would I go now in advanced middle age being 50? with some extra weight to boot?

But I am giving it a go.  Probably unwisely I decided to follow the City2Sea suggestion for training at the ‘intermediate’ level thinking that going tom the gym twice a week, running for half an hour on Sundays and riding my bike to work every day would have got me in good stead.  However it has proven to be somewhat harder than i though.  Some stages (like running up hills, or running for 80 minutes) are a reminder that perhaps my body is not like it used to be.  But it has given me the impetus of  exercising and so far I have lost 4Kg.

This fun run has also given me an opportunity to raise some money for charity.  I decided to raise some funds for the Mental Illness Fellowship of Victoria.   I don’t have any mental illness myself, but I have experienced fairly intense periods of unexplained anxiety in the past, so I had a brief glimpse of perhaps how people who do have mental illness can feel (and much worse that what I have experienced) and if I just felt unsettled and unhappy for those brief periods, I couldn’t imagine how dreadful it would be to be like that but worse for ever.  A disease that is unseen and hard to diagnose as well.

So… if there are any readers of this blog that would like to help out you can donate through this website.  http://www.mycause.com.au/RunforMentalHealth

As my training progresses I will keep in touch with this blog.  Wish me luck!

1 Comment

Filed under Musings

One response to “City2Sea fun run. My chance to re-live my past and raise some money for charity as well.

  1. Pingback: Who’s that fat bloke running? | The accidental Australian

Leave a Reply

